Colton Herta first repeat pole winner of the 2022 season

Colton Herta first repeat pole winner of the 2022 season

IndyCar Toronto Starting Lineup: Colton Herta Became the first driver to have multiple pole positions this seasonQualifying first on the streets of Toronto in his number 26 Dallara-Honda.

After testing a Formula One car for the first time earlier in the week in Portugal, Andretti Autosport transitioned back to the NTT IndyCar Series with a 59.2698-second lap around the streets of Toronto.

“I was a little worried about maybe taking a session to get back in it,” Herta said. “But as soon as I got into the car, the seating position and everything was so different that it was almost like a light switch that flickered in my head that it was an Indy car. It probably took a lap or two. Actual driving style Incredibly not isolated, so it was very comfortable to go back and forth.

“Could not have been much better. I am really happy with the performance of the team.”

Scott Dixon (59.3592) qualified in second place as the six-time series champion, reaching the final qualifying round by road or road for only the second time this season. Chip Ganassi Racing Driver is a three-time winner in Toronto, most recently in 2018.

“It’s been a good weekend for us,” Dixon said. “I think all the cars rolled really well. It was just trying to keep the track that it was a bit. Probably over-attacked on the last lap, lost a lot of time (turn) 6). There are always things you can improve on.

“Congratulations Colton, it was a great lap. Looking to start from close to the front and hope you have a clean day.”

Joseph Newgarden finished third, followed by Alexander Rossi, rookie David Malukas and Scott McLaughlin to round out the fast six.

qualifying resultClick here for the full report from : Toronto L Round 1, Group 1L Round 1, Group 2L Round 2L Fast Six

IndyCar in Toronto: How to watch Sunday’s race on Peacock, schedule, entry list

Points leader and Indy 500 winner Marcus Ericsson finished ninth.

Few contenders would be coming from deep into the field as Will Power (16th), Alex Palu (22nd) and Pato O’Ward (15th) all failed to advance past the first round of qualifying.

An eventful week continued for Palu, who damaged his No. 10 Dallara-Honda in a Turn 2 accident during a practice session on Saturday morning. He lost power and stalled on the track during qualifying, causing a red flag.

Defending Series champion Chip Ganassi is embroiled in a contractual dispute with Racing, which has said it will retain Palu next season, even though the driver has signed with McLaren Racing.

Here’s IndyCar’s starting lineup for Sunday’s Honda Indy Toronto on an 11-turn, 1.786-mile street course (qualifying position, car number in parentheses, driver, engine, timing, speed):

line 1

1. (26) Colton Herta, Honda, 59.2698 (108.480)
2. (9) Scott Dixon, Honda, 59.3592 (108.317)

row 2

3. (2) Joseph Newgarden, Chevrolet, 59.5257 (108.014)
4. (27) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 59.5544 (107.962)

row 3

5. (18) David Malukas, Honda, 59.6140 (107.854)
6. (3) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 59.9558 (107.239)

row 4

7. (77) Callum Ilot, Chevrolet, 59.6352 (107.816)
8. (7) Felix Rosenquist, Chevrolet, 59.6630 (107.765)

row 5

9. (8) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 59.8527 (107.424)
10. (30) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 59.9151 (107.312)

row 6

11. (28) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 01:00.0819 (107.014)
12. (29) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 01:14.8882 (85.856)

row 7

13. (45) Jack Harvey, Honda, 01:00.0212 (107.122)
14. (15) Graham Rahal, Honda, 01:00.6805 (105.958)

row 8

15. (5) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 01:00.1193 (106.947)
16. (12) Will Power, Chevrolet, 01:00.7974 (105.755)

line 9

17. (06) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 01:00.2712 (106.678)
18. (60) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 01:00.7974 (105.755)

line 10

19. (51) Takuma Sato, Honda, 01:00.5324 (106.217)
20. (21) Rinus VK, Chevrolet, 01:01.0870 (105.253)

line 11

21. (48) Jimmy Johnson, Honda, 01:00.9817 (105.435)
22. (10) Alex Palu, Honda, 01:03.0514 (101.974)

row 12

23. (4) Dalton Chevrolet, No Time (No Speed)
24. (14) Kyle Kirkwood, Chevrolet, 01:03.2511 (101.652)

line 13

25. (20) Connor Daly, Chevrolet, 01:05.2593 (98.524)

IndyCar Toronto starting lineup: Colton Herta 2022 season first repeat poll winner originally appeared on

Source link

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.