Indianapolis Xfinity starting lineup: AJ Allmendinger wins pole

Indianapolis Xfinity starting lineup: AJ Allmendinger wins pole

AJ Allmender wins pole position for Saturday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series race on the road course at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

In the final moments of Friday’s qualifying, Allmender posted a lap of 1 minute, 29.748 seconds to overtake Riley Herbst (1:30.076) from pole in the second round.

MORE: NASCAR Xfinity Series at Indy – Starting Lineup

Ty Gibbs then secured the outside front row position with the second fastest lap (1:29.842).

In addition to Saturday’s Xfinity Race, Allmender will also run Sunday’s Cup Race on the 14-turn IMS Road Course. They won the inaugural Cup race on the IMS Road Course last year, after a chaotic end that escalated the race into double overtime.

“It’s what I dreamed of with racing,” Allmender told NBC Sports about racing at Indy. “The experience we got with Kaulig Racing last year can never be taken away from us.

“We know it’s a new year and we have to go out there and do it again, but I love this place … we’ll try to get some tomorrow.”

Herbst will share Row 2 with Cup Series regular Alex Bowman (1:30.210). Behind him in Row 3 will be Sam Meyer (1:30.407) and another Cup regular, Indiana native Chase Briscoe (1:30.614).

In total, six Cups are in the field for regular Saturdays. Here’s a rundown of where they qualified:

  • Alex Bowman (No. 17 Hendricks Motorsports Chevrolet) – Qualified fourth

  • Chase Brisco (No.07 SS Green Light Racing Ford) – Qualified 6th

  • Bubba Wallace (No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota) – Qualified 13th

  • Ross Chastain (No. 92 DGM Racing Chevrolet) – qualified 18th

  • Austin Dillon (No. 68 Brandonbilt Motorsports Chevrolet) – Qualified 20th

  • Ty Dillon (No. 6 JD Motorsports Chevrolet) – Qualified 27

Four drivers failed to qualify: JJ Yelly, Josh Williams, Brad Perez and Mason Filippi.

Coverage of Saturday’s Xfinity Series Race begins at 3:30 p.m. ET on NBC. The race will also be live streamed on Peacock Premium.

Read more about NASCAR

Saturday Indianapolis Xfinity Race: start times, TV info, season “Race for the Championship” premieres September 1 USA Father’s Time: Dad’s Gift to Justin Allgeier Gets More Special Every Day

Indianapolis Xfinity Starting Lineup: AJ Allmender Wins Pole Originally Appeared on

Source link

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.