Justin Allgaier wins Xfinity race at New Hampshire

Justin Allgaier wins Xfinity race at New Hampshire

Justin Allgeier ran away from other contenders late in the race and won Saturday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Allgaier, driving a Chevrolet for Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s team, overtook Trevor Bayne, Landon Cassill and Noah Gregson in the closing laps. He won by almost four seconds, with Bayne taking second.

The win is Allgaier’s third of the season. It ended a six-race NHMS winning streak for Joe Gibbs Racing and marked Chevrolet’s first victory at the track since 2007.

The race was affected by several accidents.

The contact between Sheldon Creed and Josh Berry triggered a multi-car wreck with 76 laps remaining, leading to a red flag. Berry slammed up the track, blocking the main racing groove. Sieg hits Berry, and Jeb Burton, arriving at the crash site and finding the track blocked, slams into Sieg’s car, causing the rear of the car to rise high into the air.

NASCAR red-flagged the race to have security personnel in place to clear the track.

William Byrne took the lead in the second stage and took the stage victory, but a flat tire at the start of the final stage cost him the lead.

On the final lap of the second stage, Noah Gragson and Daniel Heimrick, who had previously raced in a tough competition, crashed, sending Gragson into a slide.

Heimrich later abandoned the race after a clear blown tire sent his car into the wall.

The race’s first caution flag flew near the end of Stage 1 when Allgeier and rookie Julia Landauer approached the exit from Turn 4. Landauer, starting the Xfinity Race for the first time, turned and slammed into the inside wall.

Landauer’s car was heavily damaged but returned to the competition on the pit road. She crashed again at the start of the final stage and stood for the day.

Joe Gibbs Racing driver Ty Gibbs had a dominant car at the start of the race, but mechanical problems caused him to make several rounds in the pits.

Stage 1 Winner: ryan siego

Stage 2 Winner: William Byron

Read more about NASCAR

No time to look back for RCR, Tyler Reddick; NASCAR Cup starting lineup at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Track as Martin Truex Jr. wins Cup Series poll in New Hampshire

Justin Allgeier wins the Xfinity race in New Hampshire Originally appeared on NBCSports.com

Source link

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.